

MAJOR CITIES CHIEFS ASSOCIATION

May 12, 2023

The Honorable John Cornyn United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Gary Peters United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Cornyn and Senator Peters,

I write on behalf of the Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA) to register our support for S. 1387, the *Project Safe Neighborhoods Reauthorization Act of 2023*. The MCCA is a professional organization of law enforcement executives representing the largest cities in the United States and Canada.

Federal and local law enforcement partnerships are crucial in addressing the increased violent crime plaguing communities throughout the United States. Project Safe Neighborhoods (PSN) helps promote this collaboration and is a valuable tool in the fight against violent crime. The authorization for PSN expired in FY 2021, and while the program has continued to receive appropriations, S. 1387 will provide additional stability by reauthorizing PSN for another five years.

The *Project Safe Neighborhoods Reauthorization Act of 2023* will also make several important changes to the program, many of which were MCCA suggestions. For example, agencies will be able to use PSN funds to hire crime analysts and cover overtime costs for law enforcement assistants. These analysts and assistants are critical given the staffing shortages in many law enforcement agencies. In addition, PSN funding could also be used to support the multi-jurisdictional task forces that are instrumental in tackling threats like guns and drugs flooding into major cities throughout the country.

Thank you for your leadership and your continued support of local law enforcement. Please do not hesitate to contact me if the MCCA can further assist.

Sincerely,

Laura Cooper Executive Director Major Cities Chiefs Association

Albuquerque Arlington TX Atlanta Aurora Austin Baltimore Baltimore Co. Boston Buffalo Charlotte-Mecklenburg Chicago Cincinnati Cleveland Columbus Dallas DeKalb Co. Denver Detroit El Paso Fairfax Co. Fort Worth Fresno Honolulu Houston Indianapolis Jacksonville Kansas City Las Vegas Los Angeles Los Angeles Los Angeles Co. Louisville Memphis Mesa Miami Miami-Dade Milwaukee Minneapolis Montgomery Co. Nashville Nassau Co. New Orleans New York City Newark Oakland Oklahoma City Omaha Orlando Philadelphia Phoenix Pittsburgh Portland Prince George's Co. Raleigh Sacramento Salt Lake City San Antonio San Diego San Francisco San Jose Seattle St. Louis St. Louis Co. Suffolk Co. Tampa Tucson Tulsa Virginia Beach Washington DC Wichita

Calgary, Alberta Edmonton, Alberta Montreal, Québec Ottawa, Ontario Peel Region, Ontario Toronto, Ontario Vancouver, B.C. Winnipeg, Manitoba York Region, Ontario CC: The Honorable Chuck Grassley The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema The Honorable Thomas Tillis The Honorable Amy Klobuchar The Honorable Ted Cruz The Honorable Dianne Feinstein The Honorable Deb Fischer The Honorable Christopher Coons